Class of Title at the Land Registry


It is important that you know the class of Title you hold for your property, assuming it is registered at the Land Registry. There are 3 different types of Classes, two of which may cause serious difficulties if you decide to sell.

The Classes of Title

1. Title Absolute

This is the ultimate Class of Title. It means that the owner has a full title to the property without the fetters described below.

2. Possessory Title

Where a Possessory Title is granted there is a risk that ownership may be challenged by someone else who thinks they are entitled to the property. A Possessory Title will usually be given where a property owner applies for first registration but is unable to produce the Property Deeds, or where a person claims adverse possession, e.g. over a small parcel of land that he thought was and treated it as, part of his garden.

3. Qualified Title

A Qualified Title may be granted when there is a defect in the Title, e.g. Upon an application for First Registration an unexplained break in the chain of ownership is discovered.

Upgrading an Inferior Title

The two inferior Titles mentioned above can be upgraded at any time after the defect is remedied, provided the property is registered. Possessory Titles can be upgraded, in any event, after 12 years has elapsed, if there has been no challenge against your ownership.

Title Register

The Land Registry Title Register holds data relating to the property ownership, purchase price, mortgage, tenure, covenants, rights of way, leases and class of title.


Find out more

Title Plan

The Title Plan shows an outline of the property and its immediate neighbourhood, and uses colours to identify rights of way, general boundaries and land affected by covenants.


Find out more

Lease & Lease Plans

The Lease and its Lease Plan usually form one document and are both provided for the one fee. They are very useful in resolving disputes, particularly with car parking and other shared areas.


Find out more